top of page

Cup Competitions

In terms of the competitive side of the Torbay Festival, this has never been a cash prize event. At its core, the Festival values friendship, fun and hockey played to win but to win in the right way – in a friendly and fun way. As such, the two trophies reflect these values: trophies for both fair play and top goalscoring team are awarded on Easter Monday. Since 2007 the Redcliffe Cup was awarded for the former, but in 2024 this will be replaced with the Tony Forward Shield in memory of Tony who had been Festival Chairman for 40 years when he passed away in 2019. The team who scores the most goals receive the Bill Stickells Cup, named in honour of the long serving goalkeeper for the Avengers club and donated in his memory by the Stickells family in 1979. The 2023 winners were the Midwives from the Croydon and Old Mid Whitgiftians Hockey Club, who romped away from the field with an impressive 46 goals over the weekend.

bottom of page